A reporter using the iPad

Note: Another post by contributor Jodie Mason.

I was definitely one of those people who snubbed the idea of the iPad at first. The idea of spending $500 on a device that can’t print like a laptop or take photos like my phone seemed insane to me.

But after spending about two weeks with the iPad, I can honestly say that is no longer the case.
First off, the start-up time can’t be beat. Unlike my laptop, which seems to get slower by the day, I can be online in seconds, checking my e-mail or using the various applications.

One thing in particular that I enjoyed about the iPad was the large screen. I am an owner of the Evo 4G, and with its 4-inch screen, it was an improvement from my previous phone. But I still have issues reading downloaded attachments and checking to see if my photos looked good.

With the iPad, I can see everything on a large screen, and it’s much easier to type on the larger keypad. I am still getting comfortable with typing on a touch screen, but I found that turning it sideways helped.

I look forward to the opportunity to use applications like CoverItLive to live-blog events and discover other applications that will allow me the opportunity to appeal to a wider readership.

Overall, the iPad is a welcomed tool for my work.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

