HootSuite as a tool for digital journalists

If it’s one thing every journalist needs nowadays, it’s more time — or at the very least, something that works as a time-saver.

In my past month with HootSuite, a social media dashboard, I have found just that.

Typically, when I upload content to our website it’s at the end of the day, which, on some nights, can be an ungodly hour. At this point, before I had HootSuite in my pocket, I would write myself a note to remind myself to post links to these stories throughout the next day.

HootSuite has changed all of that. Now I upload content, grab the links for those stories and schedule them all on HootSuite as I upload. So not only am I taking care of all my online duties at once, but I’m also scheduling everything to post throughout the day, the next day or even the day after that. This increases visibility to our publications by not bombing the page all at once. It can gracefully slip into someone’s news feed as they read.

And while on its face, it might not seem like a time saver, it really has become one for me because now my workday is much more streamlined. I don’t have that nagging feeling about social media in the back of my mind anymore. HootSuite has taken care of that.

[Click here to read my tutorial about how to use HootSuite for scheduling social media posts and using its free analytics feature.]

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

