Teaching Blogging 101 at Chelsea Senior Center

I took the Southeast Michigan Media Lab on the road today, visiting the Chelsea Senior Center to teach Blogging 101. Susan Barb, program manager at the center, helped organize my visit and my colleagues at The Chelsea Standard helped by promoting it, along with Susan, who used the Chelsea Senior Center’s newsletter to spread the word. Susan also said former Heritage Media reporter Lisa Allmendinger’s Chelsea Update had a mention about it.

The event attracted two seniors, which isn’t many, but I am hoping word will spread and I can return soon to a full house with the intention of expanding our blogging partnership base. We currently have 112 blogging partners who we link to at Heritage.com. On Friday, I helped a soon-to-be fourth-grader in Chelsea schools launch his blog on Tumblr. It’s called the Lava Man Series. You should check it out! We will be adding it soon to our blog roll and he will be our youngest partner.

This isn’t the first time I’ve taken the media lab on the road. I’ve also presented at the Dexter Area Chamber of Commerce Speak & Eat and Saline Area Chamber of Commerce breakfast meeting, and I am scheduled at the Milan Chamber breakfast meeting later this summer. In addition, I’ve met one-on-one with students in Saline interested in blogging to talk about the steps involved in becoming partners with Heritage Media.

This is the second time I’ve led a workshop on blogging specifically for senior citizens. Before the media lab launched in April 2012, David Veselenak, the former online coordinator for Heritage Media-West, and I, while I was managing editor of the group, presented a similar workshop at the Saline Senior Center. This was different, though, because I was on my own and did all of the presenting. Also, as part of the media lab, we hosted a Blogger Fair May 9 and I taught a workshop on adding bells and whistles to your blog to make it more visually appealing.

Michelle Rogers taught Blogging 101 at the Chelsea Senior Center June 24.

Michelle Rogers taught Blogging 101 at the Chelsea Senior Center June 24.

My hope is blogging will appeal to some of today’s workshop attendees and they embrace it as a vehicle to express themselves, whether sharing their hobbies and interests, political or spiritual views, or to share life experiences, moments they lived through in history or their travel adventures.

If you want help with your blog, need helping refining your writing or setting up social media channels, come visit the Southeast Michigan Media Lab. Our help is free as part of public outreach by our parent company, 21st Century Media, which is managed by Digital First Media.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Teaching Blogging 101 at Chelsea Senior Center”


  1. I keep trying to make it to events but I live so far away. Owning a business makes it hard to make the trip. I wish you guys would do more traveling classes for those of us that live further away…. Like Shelby twp. Area : )
    Keep up the good work and I hope to eventually meet.


  2. Simply Creative Boutique, good news, we’re opening at media lab at The Macomb Daily on Hall Road by month’s end. A launch party will be held in August. Contact Maryanne Mcleod at The Macomb Daily to make an appointment or suggest a workshop. Also, all of our workshops are livestreamed and you can watch the recorded versions on our uStream channel: http://www.ustream.tv/new/search?q=Heritage+Community+Media+Lab


Leave a Reply

